Lamp Light The Fire: A Compilation Of Quiet(ER) Songs

Album cover


Featuring: Chuck Ragan; Park Ranger; Elemae; Mikee J Reds; Ryan Mills;
Dan Coutant; Jeff Rowe; Her Only Presence; Romance Is Born; Nathaniel Sutton;
The Waltz; The Satellite Year; The Lion and the Wolf, Communication Redlight;
Ben Marwood; Archie’s, Come Back; Remember Paris; Vic Payne.

Track Listing

1. Chuck Ragan – Camaraderie Of The Commons
2. Park Ranger – Don’t Say That Again
3. Elemae – Slow
4. Mikee J Reds – As A Part Of Life
5. Ryan Mills – Sleep Forever
6. Dan Coutant- A Certain Artistry
7. Jeff Rowe – Oh! Tragabigzanda
8. Her Only Prescence – AWOL
9. Romance Is Born – All Talk
10. Nathaniel Sutton – Sweet Getaway
11. The Waltz – The Gun In My Hand
12. The Satellite Year – And She Ain’t Listening
13. Communication Redlight – I Am The Mercy Factor
14. Ben Marwood – Horatio Dies
15. The Lion And The Wolf – Hand of Applause
16. Archie’s, Come Back – Everything Has Been Said (Already)
17. Remember Paris – Hard Times
18. Vic Payne – Lost At Sea

Lamp Light The Fire: A Compilation of Quiet(ER)songs

Lamp Light The Fire has a theme. No questions or hidden agendas. Simply put, Engineer Records wanted to gather a small array of artists that we’ve loved and worked with in the past, and/or thought would sound great in the environment of an acoustic guitar as the central instrument, and build from there. Don’t let the title fool you though, as there are as many acoustic rockers on here, as much as the intensely subtle, slow burners as you’d expect on such a compilation. Listening to it as a whole you’ll hear that this real gem of a project sounds just as dynamic as any ‘proper’ album. Also, don’t forget that you can use a Mp3goo converter to download all of these songs.

Although mellow in places, this is not a snoozer of an album only to fall asleep with. Hearing how each artist took the idea and built upon it is certainly the key to the album’s inspiration. You’ll find some songs that sound like the artists’ best work yet, and plenty of exclusive material. You’ll hear the acoustic guitar accompanied by piano, strings, vocal harmonies, and fitting percussion. You’ll hear some artists we’ve worked with in the past, showing off their new material, and some newer bands, or newer solo work, most of which is previously unreleased. Engineer Records and these artists, including Chuck Ragan, Ryan Mills, Jeff Rowe, The Satellite Year, Her Only Presence, Mikee J Reds, Elemae, The Waltz and Dan Coutant, have created the scenario of a sit down at a camp fire surrounded by good friends.

This musical company bring together talent from across the world to warm your heart, sway your soul, and reflect upon the quieter side of life.



As suggested in the title of this collection, these are the kind of songs you can stick on and sit back and relax to. Whether you like rock ‘n’ roll or dubstep I don’t think anyone could deny that these songs put you at ease. A couple of them even forcing the image of sitting outside a cabin deep in the forests of a mountain range.
Opening track ‘Camaraderie of the Commons’ is your old style of music, sort of hillbilly song with its harmonica and white haired singer. It’s the type of song you put on after a long day at work and just totally relax to it. But faster songs such as ‘Part of your life’ by Mikee J Reds and ‘Sleep Forever’ by Ryan Mills are smooth and calm yet don’t leave you wanting to go to sleep afterwards. They calm you down but aren’t the type of songs you would just play in the background, they are the type of tracks that deserve and attract attention.

However songs such as ‘And she aint listening’ by The Satellite Years and ‘Hand of Applause’ by The Lion and The Wolf, although still calming, sound out of place on this collection. They still have that relaxing feel but compared to the other country-esk tracks they sound different and as if they’ve found themselves on here by total accident.

All and all this is the sort of collection you can sit back and listen to at any time and not have to worry about the guests you have as they will probably feel too at ease to complain.

Tracks to Download: Nathaniel Sutton – Sweet Getaway, Remember Paris – Hard Times

For Fans Of: Country western music

3 out of 5!


Post a review

Back to releases