Elemae – A Life To Be Defined

Album cover


  • For fans of Elliott, Sense Field, Catherine Wheel, Fugazi, Farside, Rival Schools, The Who, Shiner, Jimmy Eat World.
  • Originally released in the USA only in early 2000.
  • Recent ‘sleeping With Adrenaline” 7-inch single on Engineer garnered rave reviews worldwide. Upcoming second full-length due out this summer!
  • Shared stages with Braid, Onelinedrawing, Shades Apart, Camber, Brandston, Instruction, Gameface, Joshua.
  • Features guest vocal by Alf Bartone of the late Ex Number Five (Ferret/One Day Saviour).

Track Listing

  1. Fission
  2. Odemo
  3. Something Synthetic
  4. Science Kit
  5. Upside Out
  6. Beautiful Things
  7. This Curtain Is My Veil
  8. Fret Echo
  9. Farewell
  10. Snapshot-sentence Song
  11. Audio Landscape #7
  12. No Song

About this Release

One step forward, two steps back. Usually a phrase dour in meaning, the tone of that statement has never sounded more positive to us here at Engineer Records! In licensing the re-release of “A Life to be Defined”, Engineer Records will either be introducing or refamiliarizing you to one of New Jersey’s more melodic yet edgy alternative bands, Elemae.

Previously self-released in the USA only in early 2000, “A Life to be Defined” is finally getting the push it deserves worldwide, in hopes of gaining the attention this diverse group needs. This may serve as a little history lesson to some who have only heard their newest, and warmly received single ‘sleeping With Adrenaline”, from Elemae’s upcoming yet-to-be-titled LP, issued as a clear vinyl 7-inch single last year on the Engineer label.

Diversity is the key for this challenging group of best friends, as they explore styles from Post-Hardcore to Brit-Rock, yet seem to reside painlessly in between. “A Life to be Defined” combines Elemae’s love for mixing new influences with old styles, and coming up with a sound unique to their vision. Whether it be a catchy as hell chorus driven melody, or a tripped-out Fugazi-esque instrumental, this album sure has it all. The moody opener “Odemo”, back to back with ‘something Synthetic” finds the band near top form in tugging at your heartstrings and also giving your mind something to digest.

An obvious influence of Sense Field can be found in “Beautiful Things”, but if your going to hint at your contemporaries, why not borrow from the best? With warm humming bass lines, complex rhythms of guitar and drums, and smooth-passionate vocals, Elemae gave us an album that needs to be heard.

Back to releases