Chamberlain – Exit 263

Album cover


  • For fans of Jets to Brazil, Dead Red Sea, Favez The Wallflowers, Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan.
  • Previous releases on Doghouse Records, “Fates Got a Driver” and ‘the Moon My Saddle”.
  • Features Adam Rubenstein, guitarist and key songwriter, now a solo project signed to Doghouse.
  • Loyal fan base within the alternative / rock scene since 1994.

Track Listing

  1. Lovely and Alone
  2. On My Side of the Street
  3. That Was the Best
  4. Hey Louise
  5. The Last Time
  6. Steady Tryin’ To Holler
  7. Strange Days
  8. Santa Fe
  9. Chivalry
  10. Wherever I’m Standing Now
  11. You Can’t Have It All
  12. Masterpiece

About this Release

Chamberlain somewhat surpass remarks like ‘there’s been a lot of speculation surrounding this release” or ‘this is one of the most anticipated albums of the year” considering regardless of how much they “change” or ‘surprise” they always command the utmost interest from the majority of the alternative scene.

They have certainly done the rounds starting life as a hardcore band and ending life as an incredibly accomplished, loosely termed Country/Rock band. What seems never to change with this band, with no exception on “Exit 263″ their latest and final album, is the quality of song writing and musicianship. Whether playing in their early 90’s post-hardcore form as ‘split Lip” years back or the more progressive emo/country mix that evolved in Chamberlain they always delivered powerful and memorable songs.

This was something that seemed to come naturally to the band and namely vocalist David Moore and guitarist Adam Rubenstein. They were two of the original and crucial members of Chamberlain and their writing ability is still fully apparent in this, their last, most personal and adventurous album to date.

“Exit 263” is in the main a country/rock album but it still has the appeal of the awesome vocal style of David Moore which has always been a something of an institution within the hardcore/emo scene as being one of the most well-rounded and influential voices. On the one hand you could argue they have gone more mainstream but equally if you know the band they have actually followed their hearts and not tried to produce anything less than the music and message they wanted to express. Highlights like “Masterpiece” and “Lovely and Alone” are perfect examples of an album that is consistent throughout.

Sophisticated and perfectly executed guitar work gives the impression you”re listening to an old hand in the country/rock genre. This is complimented with a perfectly suited rhythm section played with a more “blues/roots” style as it keeps things exciting and moving while the vocals and guitars tell their story.

Lyrically Moore shows a matured but still recognisable style using poetic lines to express personal tales of love-lost and people moving on. The few tracks that were recorded on a 4-track in a remote cabin are perhaps about as close to the band as anyone can get and the rawness of these tracks soon whittle away further need for analysis.

Both determined longstanding fans or eager newcomers should agree that this final phase of one of the most integral bands of the 90’s alternative scene once again embodies pure emotion, expression, identity and originality.

Back to releases