Ayin – Fear of Tigers

Album cover


  • For fans of The Blood Brothers, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Panic! At The Disco, Alice Donut, The Make-Up
  • ”’East Coast/Midwest/South tour in 2007. Already many tour miles under thier belts.’
  • Recorded at Headbanging Kill Your Mama Studios by Chris Owens (LORDS, Jade Tree).

Track Listing

  1. Bright Lights, Black Helicopters
  2. Constrictor
  3. Welcome Home, Desperation
  4. Fear Of Tigers
  5. Parallels
  6. King Of Fuck Mountain
  7. Motorcycle Song
  8. 21
  9. The Pile of Shit at the End of the Rainbow

About this Release

Buy onĀ Ayin - Fear of Tigers

Unlike many bands that constantly disband and reform in different configurations, Louisville, KY’s Ayin has a significant history. The first lineup under the name Ayin came together in late 1998, consisting of current guitarist Jacob Gotlib and former keyboardist/occasional saxophonist Josh Shapero. They recorded a dearth of embarrassing ambient/industrial music, released in small quantities on CD-R, all of which thankfully, are no longer available. They met vocalist Shane Simms the next year because they were all wearing the same Nine Inch Nails t-shirt and soon began to collaborate. Later that month, they met bassist Daisy (who lied and told them he knew how to play drums) at a house party. Soon, drummer Brandon Thompson (who at the time played in pop-punk outfit 451) fell into the mix, and the quintet attempted to learn material previously recorded by Gotlib and Shapero. Failing miserably, they spent the next few years as an obnoxious and fearful noise band, earning notoriety and contempt throughout Louisville. Upon graduating high school, the group decided to actually practice and write fully-formed songs and self-released a limited 7-song EP, Dead Sexy Future in the summer of 2003. Shortly after, Shapero left the group to live in Japan and the remaining four recruited the classically-trained Sarah Patrick on keyboards and vocals, finalizing the group’s current lineup. Ayin gigged incessantly around the region, releasing their first full-length, Nothing Islands on Brightskull Records in 2004, as well as the 7″ EP ‘Rock and Roll Killed My Baby.’ Touring the Midwest, East coast and South during breaks between school, Ayin shared the stage with such luminaries as the Blood Brothers, Mindless Self Indulgence, Pretty Girls Make Graves, An Albatross, and many lesser-known greats. The two years the group spent crafting their second album ‘Fear of Tigers’ was the most intense of their career. The band spent days refining the finest details in the music and as members went through rough personal trials, the music turned darker, bleaker, yet more honest and personal than anything they’d ever written. In the summer of 2006, Ayin finalized and recorded the album with Chris Owens (of Lords) at his Headbanging Kill Your Momma studios. What was by far the longest and most laborious recording process that Ayin had ever undertaken had yielded an expansive and unrelenting album an indictment of the blase attitudes prevalent in a culture in dark times.

Back to releases